Interview with Chairman of the TWINT Board Søren Mose

Since December last year, the Swiss payment app TWINT has had a new Chairman of its Board of Directors. Søren Mose comes from Denmark, where most people already pay using their smartphone. He reveals how TWINT is set to change payment habits in Switzerland over the coming years.

Søren Mose, Chairman of the TWINT Board of Directors
‘Four years from now, TWINT will be as widespread in Switzerland as Mobilepay is in Denmark’.

 

Mr Mose, you have now been Chairman of the TWINT Board of Directors for more than three months. In what direction is the Swiss payment solution developing?

We are making very good progress. TWINT currently has more than 750,000 registered users. Furthermore, 65 banks have also opted to use TWINT. This is highly satisfactory when you consider that TWINT has only existed in its current form since April 2017. The number of new users is actually rising by more than 10,000 every week. It is in those areas where we can offer our customers an otherwise unavailable solution that growth is strongest.

Which areas are these?

P2P, i.e. payments between private individuals, and e-commerce. Let me explain these two examples to you in more detail: Using the ‘Send and request money’ function, you can transfer money to one another directly from account to account or request payments from one another via TWINT. It is so unbelievably simple and it costs nothing, absolutely nothing. In the area of e-commerce, it is also extremely beneficial to use TWINT when making online purchases, as this means you are no longer required to enter your credit card details or save them online. Your own bank account is linked to the app. TWINT is secure and quicker. This is a real improvement for all users. TWINT is enjoying great growth, in particular, in the areas of e-commerce and P2P, as we are really helping customers here and are able to satisfy their needs.

How do you assess the development of TWINT in the area of stationary retail?

We are also seeing great progress in the area of stationary retail. Here, we are contributing more to changing customer habits. In future, however, digital payments will be the norm. TWINT is the only solution that allows you to make simple payments everywhere, namely between individuals, in e-commerce and at cash registers. Coop has been on board from the outset. Since March, it has also been possible to make TWINT payments at Migros. And Swiss Federal Railways (SBB) has also indicated that it is only a matter of time before it will also accept TWINT payments. The more you use TWINT, the more you want to use it.

Would you say that our wallets are being digitalised?

Yes, I am convinced that in future we will no longer be carrying thick wallets full of bonus cards, loyalty cards and stamp cards of various stores. The same is also true for debit and credit cards as well as cash. The customers of tomorrow want things to be simpler and more practical. Everything will therefore be consolidated and stored on our smartphones. This makes things more secure, quicker and easier.

You come from Denmark, where smartphone payments are already very widespread. How do mobile payments work in Denmark?

In Denmark, TWINT is called Mobilepay. This is the most-used app and just about everybody in Denmark uses Mobilepay. In a country with 5.6 million residents, there are around 4.5 million registered users. As is the case in Switzerland with TWINT, Mobilepay has primarily grown quickly in the areas of P2P and e-commerce. In contrast to TWINT, however, Mobilepay is not an account solution, but rather a credit card solution. I am absolutely convinced that in the long term it will be possible to link a bank account with Mobilepay in the same way that TWINT users already can. We will see. From a technical perspective, TWINT is more advanced than Mobilepay. Mobilepay was launched in 2013 and has thus already been in use for four years. TWINT in its current form is just one year old. In four years’ time, TWINT will be just as widespread as Mobilepay, but TWINT will be more versatile in the functions that it offers than its Danish counterpart.

To what extent can Denmark be compared to Switzerland?

Denmark is very digitalised. In every comparative list with respect to digitalisation in different countries, Denmark is always one of the forerunners. Every Dane is ‘digitally’ born with a personal identification number (cpr). Without a cpr number in Denmark you cannot receive a name. All Danes also have a digital mailbox for official and private post. The system is the same for all residents. It is for this reason that Mobilepay was also very quickly accepted by the Danes.
I am sure – and also hope – that the e-identity will also be implemented soon in Switzerland. This will accelerate the process of digitalisation in general and in various areas. Like Denmark, Switzerland is always among the leaders when it comes to comparisons of international competitiveness. And that is why this digital world and digital competition are very important. Switzerland will then become a lot more digital just like Denmark, meaning in turn that TWINT will become even more important.

What is still needed in Switzerland to make mobile payments as popular as they are in Denmark?

We shouldn’t forget that Mobilepay went live in Denmark in 2013. Even in Denmark there was a little bit of doubt at the beginning. It is now difficult to imagine Denmark without Mobilepay. This will also soon be the situation with TWINT in Switzerland.

This might also interest you:

Back

Download the TWINT app now

It does not matter who you bank with: TWINT is available to everybody. Ideally, you should select the TWINT app of a bank with which you have an account. This will allow you to link the app to your bank account.

Go to top of page

Interview mit dem TWINT Verwaltungsratspräsident Søren Mose

Die Schweizer Bezahl-App TWINT hat seit Dezember vergangenen Jahres einen neuen Verwaltungsratspräsidenten. Søren Mose kommt aus Dänemark, wo bereits die meisten Menschen mit dem Smartphone bezahlen. Er verrät, wie TWINT in den nächsten Jahren die Zahlungsgewohnheiten in der Schweiz verändern wird.

Søren Mose, Verwaltungsratspräsident von TWINT
«In vier Jahren wird TWINT in der Schweiz so weit verbreitet sein wie Mobilepay in Dänemark.»

 

Herr Mose, Sie sind nun seit über drei Monaten Verwaltungsratspräsident von TWINT. In welche Richtung entwickelt sich die Schweizer Payment-Lösung?

Wir sind sehr gut unterwegs. TWINT hat derzeit über 750’000 registrierte Nutzerinnen und Nutzer. Darüber hinaus haben sich 65 Banken für den Einsatz von TWINT entschieden. Das ist sehr zufriedenstellend, wenn man bedenkt, dass es TWINT in der heutigen Form erst seit April 2017 gibt. Die Anzahl neuer Nutzerinnen und Nutzer steigt tatsächlich jede Woche um über 10’000. Dort, wo wir für unsere Kundinnen und Kunden eine anderweitig nicht vorhandene Lösung anbieten, ist das Wachstum am grössten.

Welche Bereiche sind das?

P2P – also Zahlungen zwischen Privatpersonen – und E-Commerce. Lassen Sie mich diese beiden Beispiele näher erklären: Mit der Funktion «Geld senden und anfordern» können wir via TWINT direkt von Konto zu Konto einander Geld überweisen, respektive voneinander einfordern. Das ist so unglaublich einfach und kostet nichts, absolut nichts. Bei Online-Käufen – wir nennen es E-Commerce – ist es ebenfalls ein enormer Vorteil, TWINT zu benutzen. Mit TWINT muss man bei Online-Einkäufen keine Kreditkartendaten eingeben oder im Internet hinterlegen. Das eigene Bankkonto ist mit der App verbunden. TWINT ist sicher und schneller. Das ist für alle Nutzerinnen und Nutzer eine echte Verbesserung. Wir sehen besonders in den Bereichen E-Commerce und P2P ein grosses Wachstum von TWINT. Weil wir den Kundinnen und Kunden wirklich helfen und ihre Bedürfnisse befriedigen.

Wie beurteilen Sie die Entwicklung von TWINT im stationären Handel?

Auch beim stationären Handel sehen wir grosse Fortschritte. Hier unterstützen wir momentan mehr die Gewohnheitsänderungen der Kundinnen und Kunden. Aber in Zukunft wird die digitale Zahlung die Normalität sein. TWINT ist die einzige Lösung für einfaches Bezahlen überall, namentlich zwischen Personen, im E-Commerce und an der Kasse. Coop war von Anfang an dabei. Seit März kann man auch bei Migros mit TWINT bezahlen. Und auch die SBB hat angedeutet, dass es nur eine Frage der Zeit sei, ab wann man auch bei ihr mit TWINT bezahlen kann. Je mehr man TWINT benutzt, desto mehr will man TWINT benutzen.

Wird sozusagen das Portemonnaie digitalisiert?

Ja, ich bin davon überzeugt, dass wir in Zukunft nicht mehr mit einem dicken Portemonnaie voller Bonuskarten, Treuekarten und Stempelkarten verschiedener Geschäfte unterwegs sind. Und auch nicht mit Debit- und Kreditkarten sowie Bargeld. Die Kundinnen und Kunden von morgen wollen es einfacher und praktischer haben. Daher wird alles auf unserem Smartphone zusammenfliessen und dort gespeichert. Denn das ist sicherer, schneller und einfacher.

Sie kommen aus Dänemark, wo das Bezahlen via Smartphone schon sehr verbreitet ist. Wie funktioniert Mobile Payment in Dänemark?

TWINT heisst in Dänemark Mobilepay. Das ist die meistgenutzte App und quasi jeder und jede benutzt sie. In einem Land mit 5,6 Millionen Einwohnerinnen und Einwohnern sind dies ungefähr 4,5 Millionen registrierte Nutzerinnen und Nutzer. Mobilepay ist – wie in der Schweiz – vor allem in den Bereichen P2P und E-Commerce schnell gewachsen. Mobilepay ist aber im Gegensatz zu TWINT keine Kontolösung, sondern eine Kreditkartenlösung. Ich bin überzeugt, dass es bei Mobilepay – wie bereits bei TWINT – langfristig möglich sein wird, ein Bankkonto anzubinden. Wir werden es sehen. Technisch gesehen ist TWINT weiter entwickelt als Mobilepay. Mobilepay hat im Jahr 2013 angefangen und wird also bereits seit über vier Jahren genutzt. TWINT ist in der heutigen Form erst ein Jahr alt. In vier Jahren wird TWINT so verbreitet sein wie Mobilepay, aber man wird TWINT vielfältiger nutzen können als Mobilepay.

Inwiefern lässt sich Dänemark mit der Schweiz vergleichen?

Dänemark ist sehr digitalisiert. In jeder Vergleichsliste zum Thema Digitalisierung in verschiedenen Ländern ist Dänemark immer einer der Spitzenreiter. Jede Dänin und jeder Däne wird ja mit einer persönlichen Identifikations-Nummer (cpr) «digital» geboren. Ohne cpr-Nummer erhält man in Dänemark keinen Namen. Jede Dänin und jeder Däne hat auch einen digitalen Briefkasten für amtliche und private Post. Das System ist für alle Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner dasselbe. Deshalb wurde Mobilepay von den Däninnen und Dänen auch sehr schnell aufgenommen.
Ich bin sicher – und hoffe es auch – dass die E-Identity in der Schweiz bald umgesetzt wird. Das wird die Digitalisierung generell und in verschiedenen Bereichen beschleunigen. Die Schweiz ist im Vergleich der internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit immer – wie Dänemark – ganz vorne mit dabei. Und deshalb sind diese digitale Welt und der digitale Wettbewerb sehr wichtig. Dann wird die Schweiz – genauso wie Dänemark – viel digitaler werden. Und dann wird TWINT noch wichtiger.

Was braucht es in der Schweiz noch, damit Mobile Payment so beliebt wird wie in Dänemark?

Wir sollten nicht vergessen, dass Mobilepay in Dänemark im Jahr 2013 live ging. Auch in Dänemark gab es anfänglich eher Zweifel. Doch heutzutage ist Mobilepay dort nicht mehr wegzudenken. So wird es auch bald in der Schweiz sein, mit TWINT.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

Zurück

TWINT App jetzt downloaden

Egal bei welcher Bank Sie sind: TWINT ist für alle da. Wählen Sie am besten die TWINT App einer Bank, bei der Sie ein Konto haben. So können Sie die App mit Ihrem Bankkonto verbinden.

Nach oben springen